Creative Writing: Getting Started and the Craft of Fiction

The following how-to-write books have been absolutely instrumental in my quest to learn the craft of fiction: 

Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and LifeWriting Fiction: A Guide to Narrative Craft & Writing Poems w/Workshop Guide to Creative Writing Value PackThe Art of Fiction: Notes on Craft for Young WritersThe Elements of Style (4th Edition)
My creative writing collection.

Follow the links for user reviews.  Any other recommendations?  Please do share your resources on creative writing.
4 responses to “Creative Writing: Getting Started and the Craft of Fiction”

  1. Stacie Brown says :

    Hi,

    Thanks for following my blog. You have awesome tips here as well.

    Stephen King’s On Writing is a pretty helpful book on the craft. I’m not particularly a fan of his work, and some of his advice is regurgitated information, but he writes in a way that easy to understand, and he shares his story as well.

    -Stacie

    • eternal Domnation says :

      Thanks, Stacie. I can totally see where you are coming from. I haven’t necessarily been the hugest King fan, but I think for me (you hit the nail on the head), he tells his story about writing – which I really did enjoy (super quick read – made me want to jump straight from couch to typewriter).

Leave a Reply

