Trash Talking Other Books

This was shared at a great writing workshop last week:

If you are going to learn from other writers don’t only read the great ones, because if you do that you’ll get so filled with despair and fear that you’ll never be able to do anywhere near as well as they did that you’ll stop writing.  I recommend that you read a lot of bad stuff, too.  It’s very encouraging.

– Edward Albee

I couldn’t agree more.  It was, after all, a terrible book that made me think, hey I can do something marginally better than this garbage!  I’m still working on it – even trash takes time.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Trash Talking Other Books”

  1. kaycers says :

    Oh no…so does that mean I have to read the Twilight series??!!

  2. kaycers says :

    Oh thank God! What about 50 Shades? I only made it half way through the first one…too much “murmuring” for me.

    On a more serious note, I tend to be too verbose and use a lot of run-ons. Any books I should read that will make me feel better about myself in that regard? 🙂

Leave a Reply

